Unidentified Veggie

 

music: Grape Vine Fires by Death Cab for Cutie

Last week when I was at the farmer’s market, there was this guy hacking up this squash/pumpkin looking thing.  Always curious about new vegetables I walked up to the table, where a woman was asking the man if it was a pumpkin.  “No,” he replied “it’s a Kabocha Squash.”  She lost interest and walked away.  I, on the other hand, was intrigued.  He explained I could roast it, use it in soups, and use it in any application I would normally use butternut or any other winter squash.  So I got myself a hunk.  As I was walking away, another woman came up to him and asked, “Is that pumpkin?”

I smiled expecting to hear the beginning of the explaination all over again.

“Yes,” he replied, “pumpkin.”

Now, was it some strange pumpkin?  Maybe, I think he was just sick of explaining, because after eating it, it sure tasted like squash.  But, I can’t say for sure.

 

Unidentified Veggie

Roasted Kabocha Squash

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Simply hollow out the inner seeds and guts.

Then hack it to pieces.

Place it on a baking sheet.

Sprinkle with salt.

Oh, and if you can’t find the salt, maybe you should check in your purse.  Because if you’re like me and brought it to school to sprinkle on some dehydrated sweet potato chips you brought in for your classmates for a presentation, it will be there.


Optional: drizzle with your favorite olive oil

Then roast for 30 minutes (or until tender), flipping the pieces halfway through.

Then enjoy as a side dish to any meal

Or maybe eat an entire heaping bowl of it because it’s so delicious!  Not that I did that or anything 🙂

Also, I am practicing my photography skills, but if you would like to see some really awesome pictures of a similar roasting experience.  Check out Tiny Urban Kitchen.


So what is a Kabocha squash?

Japanese variety of winter squash

Commonly called Japanese pumpkin

Popular for its strong yet sweet flavor and moist, fluffy texture

Has an exceptional naturally sweet flavor, even sweeter than butternut squash

Similar in texture and flavor to a pumpkin and a sweet potato combined

NutritionallyIt is rich in beta carotene, with iron, vitamin C, potassium, and smaller traces of calcium, folic acid, and minute amounts of B vitamins

One response to “Unidentified Veggie

  1. Hope to find this squash at my farmer’s market in town. I’m looking forward to trying this recipe!

Leave a Reply

