Kohlrabi Slaw

Tighten Up” by The Black Keys

 

Meet Kohlrabi a.k.a. a German turnip.

I had never heard of Kohlrabi before a few months ago. But, while visiting the Stone Barns early in the summer, I actually bought Kohlrabi.  After I got home I could not remember what the strange vegetable I had purchased was called.  So I just ate some raw, shaved over a salad, because that’s what the farmer who sold it to me had suggested.

A week or so later, my dad mentioned that on the David Letterman show, Dave discussed this weird vegetable Kohlrabi and my dad wanted to know if I had heard of it.  I realized that was the strange vegetable I had purchased at the Stone Barns, and set out to get some more so I could find a recipe for it now that I knew its name.

This is a recipe for a Kohlrabi slaw(at the end of the post).  It’s a combination of a bunch of recipes I came across on various blogs.  The sesame oil gives it a bit of an Asian flare.  Also, its really light and refreshing due to the lack of mayo!  All of the ingredients were freshly available from farmers at the local farmer’s market.

Julienne the Kohlrabi.

Julienne a few apples.

I used Granny Smith and Honey Crisps to make the salad more colorful.

This was the first time I had ever julienned anything.  It was a little time consuming, and I am sure a mandolin or food processor would have  made the task simplier.

Dump the Kohlrabi and the Apple in a large bowl to mix.

Add the apple cider vinegar, sesame oil, caraway seeds, salt, and pepper.

The toss your heart out, making sure to coat everything.  Let it sit for a half hour, if you can.  Like most slaws, it gets better the next day because everything gets to know each other at little better by spending the night together!

Enjoy!

 

Kohlrabi Slaw

3 Kohlrabi bulbs

3 Apples (I used 2 Granny Smith and 1 Honey Crisp)

1 Tablespoon Sesame oil

3 Tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar

1 teaspoon caraway seeds

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

 

*note: This makes a lot of slaw so feel free to either scale it down, or make it alongside pork or chicken, then next day pull the left over pork or chicken and top with the slaw for a yummy sandwich!

Leave a Reply

