Applesauce Made Easy

music: “Boy” by Ra Ra Ra Riot


Things have been so hectic for me lately.  With the end of the semester looming and then Thanksgiving, I haven’t been able to really do anything I wanted.  In fact, I am at school right now preparing for a presentation I have to give on Whole Foods later tonight.  So I thought, a quick simple recipe, which is relatively quick and simple, but produces something ridiculously tasty!


4 pounds apples, peeled and cored
4 strips of lemon peel
1-2 cinnamon sticks
1 cup water

Core and quarter your apples


Put all of the ingredients in a large pot and bring to a boil

Once boiling, reduce it to a simmer and cover the pot.

Cook for approximately 30 minutes, or until apples are quite soft.

Using a pair of tongs remove apple skins, lemon peels, and cinnamon sticks

Let cool slightly then mash or puree depending on whether you like a rustic, chunky applesauce or a smoother applesauce

 

 


Delicious served hot or cold,with or without a sprinkle of cinnamon!
4 responses to “Applesauce Made Easy

  1. Your post just reminded me that I haven’t made applesauce in ENTIRELY too long. I’ll have to give your version a try – looks yummy! 🙂

  2. sounds delish, and super easy! thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

